Celiac Food  

Introduction : Celiac, an auto immune disorder is found very commonly in people now days. It is activated by consumption of gluten by a person. It ranges from non-celiac gluten sensitivity to a complete celiac disease. Persons with non-celiac gluten sensitivity experiences similar symptoms that get rectified on withdrawal of gluten from food. However they do not test positive for the disease.  A person with gluten allergy  faces a problem of choosing food products off the shelf as in India not many options are available. In traditional food also there are very limited options available such as products made of rice, maize, Bengal gram flour only. Particularly in category of baked snacks; gluten sensitive persons find almost nothing in most parts of the country barring very limited urban areas. A disturbing situation arises for them, particularly for kids during occasions of celebrations such as birthday parties, etc. involving cake-cutting as cake, biscuits, bread, patties, etc. are made of wheat flour that contains gluten. Consequently, the allergic person generally depend upon only meals based on rice, maize and Bengal gram flour.

What Is A Gluten ? It is a  protein that is responsible for elasticity of a dough. It is found in wheat, barley, rye, triticale, farina and other grains.

Gluten-free Food : A food product free of any gluten containing ingredient can be termed as celiac food or gluten free food. As per the U.S. Food and Drug Administration rules, gluten free food should have less than 20 particles of gluten for each million. Choosing a gluten-free ingredients is not a guarantee of a gluten-free food product as processing of ingredients using a common equipment that was used to process gluten containing ingredients can be a source of gluten. Therefore, a gluten-sensitive person cannot rely on packed food products made of gluten-free ingredients unless it is clearly mentioned “Gluten-free”.

Grains Not Permitted : Keep away from all food varieties and beverages containing the accompanying:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale – a hybrid of wheat and rye

Wheat Terms : There are various assortments of wheat, all of which contain wheat gluten:

  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Kamut
  • Spelt

In the market various terms are being used for wheat flour showing how the wheat is processed or the flour is handled. Each of the following type of flour has gluten :

  • Improved flour with added nutrients and minerals.
  • Farina, processed wheat normally utilized in hot oats.
  • Graham flour, a course entire wheat flour.
  • Self-rising flour, additionally called phosphate flour.
  • Semolina, the piece of processed wheat utilized in pasta and couscous.

Gluten Containing Condiments : The readymade sauces, pickles, chutneys, dressings, etc. may contain gluten in them as gluten is a cheap stabilizer, emulsifier and a flavoring agent used in many commercially produced food products. The following is a list of the products that may contain gluten unless marked ‘Gluten-free’.

  • Ketchup
  • Tomato Sauce
  • Barbecue Sauce
  • Mustard Sauce
  • Mayonnaise Sauce
  • Relishes and chutneys
  • Pickles
  • Salad dressings
  • Pasta sauce
  • Tomato paste
  • Salsa
  • Soy sauce
  • Miso seasoning
  • Oyster sauce, black bean sauces, and other sauces used in Asian cooking
  • Stock and bouillon cubes
  • Ground spices
  • Spice mixes and steak rubs
  • Taco seasoning
  • Gravy mixes
  • Marinades
  • Malt vinegar and anything containing malt vinegar, such as pickles
  • Rice vinegar
  • Breadcrumbs and coating mixes
  • Imitation bacon bits
  • Stuffing mixes
  • Flavored salts

Watch-Words : In order to avoid buying food products having gluten a gluten sensitive person needs to watching for these warning-words on the labels mentioned below :

  • Emulsifiers
  • Flavorings
  • Stabilizers
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP), Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP) and Texturized Vegetable Protein (TVP)
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Mono- and di-glycerides
  • Dextrin
  • Malt or maltodextrin
  • Whey protein concentrate
  • Sodium caseinate

Permitted Food Varieties :   There are numerous naturally gluten-free food varieties that can be a piece of a sound eating regimen for Gluten-sensitive persons :

  • Ingredients that grow under-ground.
  • Beans, seeds (except Wheat, Barley, Rye and varieties of wheat such as Triticale, Spelt, Kamut, Wheat Berries), vegetables and nuts in their normal, natural structures
  • Eggs
  • Lean, non-processed meats, fish and poultry
  • Most low-fat dairy items.

Grains, Starches Or Flours

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn – cornmeal, corn meal and polenta marked without gluten
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free flours – rice, soy, corn, potato and bean flours
  • Hominy (corn)
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice, including wild rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Custard (cassava root)
  • Teff
  • Oats

All the above mentioned ingredients are naturally free of gluten. But in case of ready to eat packed products, available off the shelf they might have been cross- defiled.

Marking of Gluten-Free Food : As per the U.S. Food and Drug Administration rules, gluten free food products must have less than 20 particles of gluten per each million. Such food products might be labeled as along with a sign as mentioned below :

  • Normally Gluten-free food
    • A pre-arranged food that doesn’t have a gluten-containing fixing
    • Food that has not been cross-sullied with gluten-containing fixings during creation
    • Food with a gluten-containing fixing that has been handled to eliminate gluten

While purchasing processed food products, it is easy for a customer to refer a pictorial mark to decide whether the products contain gluten or not. A sign representing grains of wheat with a cross-out mark is already being used internationally as shown in the image below :

Cocktails produced using normally Gluten-free fixings, for example, grapes or juniper berries, can be named gluten-free. A cocktail produced using a gluten-containing grain (wheat, grain, rye and half breed grains, for example, triticale) can convey a name expressing the refreshment was “handled,” “treated” or “made” to eliminate gluten. Notwithstanding, the mark should express that gluten content not entirely settled and the refreshment might contain some gluten. These refreshments may not be named without gluten.

  • Brew, lager, doorman, bold (for the most part contain grain)
  • Breads
  • Bulgur wheat
  • Cakes and pies
  • Confections
  • Grains
  • Fellowship wafers
  • Treats and wafers
  • Bread garnishes
  • French fries
  • Sauces
  • Impersonation meat or fish
  • Malt, malt seasoning and other malt items (grain)
  • Matzo
  • Pastas
  • Sausages and handled lunchmeats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, including soy sauce (wheat)
  • Prepared rice blends
  • Prepared nibble food sources, for example, potato and tortilla chips
  • Self-treating poultry
  • Soups, bouillon or soup blends
  • Vegetables in sauce

Medicines And Enhancements : Medicines and solutions might involve wheat gluten as a limiting specialist. Converse with your primary care physician or drug specialist about the medications you’re taking. Dietary enhancements that contain wheat gluten should have “wheat” expressed on the mark.

Eating Gluten-free at home and in eateries : For individuals with celiac illness, specifically, it’s critical to keep away from gluten containing food. The accompanying tips can assist you with forestalling cross-defilement in your own food arrangements at home and restaurants :

  • Store gluten free food in separate containers at different locations from gluten-containing food varieties.
  • Keep food preparation surfaces, equipments free of gluten alternatively separate dedicated arrangement can be made.
  • Wash dishes and cooking gear completely.
  • Toast bread in the stove – or think about independent toaster ovens – to stay away from cross-tainting.
  • Peruse eatery menus online early if possible to be certain that there are options for you.
  • Eat out right on time or late when a café is less occupied and better ready to address your necessities.

Mr. G. S. Sidhu,

Ms. Priya,

Department of Hospitality & Tourism,

TIMT, Jalandhar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *